Please Stop “Improving” Things

bethany-legg-14229-unsplash
Photo by Bethany Legg on Unsplash

I hate it when people “improve” things for no apparent reason.

Especially, things that really do not need improving.

It’s much like looking forward to that perfect blend of coffee at your local shop and it’s been discontinued for something new and “exotic”.

I hate that — don’t you? (I’m sure you have your own list of offenders.)

Change for the sake of change, really isn’t justified. Sometimes elements truly work well. (Maybe you aren’t aware of that, but they do.) So, take a moment to reflect upon that.

Rest a bit and enjoy your success.

It is really alright to be still for just a moment.

Disruption has its costs. It’s the sanity of your users.

If you find you don’t have time for that process, because you are so busy changing things, at least be responsible. Ask customers what works for them. You may be completely surprised at what you might hear.

I know, I’m usually surprised. It’s rarely what you expect.

So, stop showing off.

I already think you are great.

You can stop proving it.

Dr. Marla Gottschalk is an Industrial/Organizational Psychologist, consultant and coach.

2 thoughts on “Please Stop “Improving” Things

  1. Thank you Maria! My wife and I are realtors and our MLS just “updated” our MLS sheets. We sent them an email stating, “If it isn’t broke, don’t fix it.” I am sure that it went it went completely over their heads, since they are “helping us.” I am going to foreward a copy of your post.
    Don & Vicki

    Like

Leave a comment